My Favorite Zurich Moments

9 Feb

I don’t know what kind of incentives the Swiss government offers its population for having children, but there are kids EVERYWHERE in the elegant and exorbitantly expensive city of Zurich!  Here’s what I’ve seen this week…

– The city parks are over-run with tiny tots, younger than three, wearing reflective vests and snow suits, and running around while two daycare workers watch placidly from a bench.

– Tons of Elementary children take public transportation and walk to school by themselves.

– Mothers breast-feed in coffee shops, rarely using a nursing blanket.

– I almost got run-over by an apparently self-guided stroller (I could’ve sworn it was rolling by itself down the street and almost threw myself on it to stop it).  When it passed me, I turned to look behind it and there was a 3-year-old pushing it, with mom walking about six feet behind.

But my favorite Zurich moment thus far:

– A teacher showed an eight-year-old boy how to do long division with the Racks and Tubes while breast-feeding her six-month-old (minus nursing blanket, obviously).  None of the other 24 children in the classroom batted an eyelash.

I celebrated quietly. 🙂

 

10 Responses to “My Favorite Zurich Moments”

  1. PCC Advantage February 9, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    LOL!! Your post is hilarious! I, too, was in Zurich in 2009 and found the very same thing! There were kids ALL over the place! There were nursing mothers and 7 year olds with pacifiers all over the place…lol.

  2. expandingfamily February 9, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    What a beautiful picture- thanks for sharing!

  3. Carla February 9, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I’m happy to know you like the city 🙂
    I have been living in Zürich for almost 2 years and love it! The amount of children here also amazes me and I will soon make my personal contribution so that this remains true (I’m having my first child in April). This is actually kind of a mystery because parental leave is not that great in Switzerland when compared to other European countries. Oh, and the city has been particularly packed with children these past few days because everybody is enjoying the very unusual sunshine and “warmth” for this time of the year.

    Have a lovely stay!

    • PCC Advantage February 9, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

      Congratulations on your soon-to-be little contribution! Are you planning to stay in Zürich long-term or just for another year or two? 🙂

  4. Nichole February 9, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I once missed my train connection in Zurich and spent 24 hours there. This was way, way before I ever had an interest in little ones shorter than myself! 🙂 I think I might of missed out on some lovely sights.

    All sounds incredible!! Hope you are soaking up enough Europe for all of us in the States!

  5. Hlin February 10, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    We just came back from Starbucks and all I could think of was telling you about how mums here in Barcelona are also getting their boobs out to feed their little babies – and it is so beautiful and natural! Maybe the trend should be started in the US too? 🙂

  6. Louise February 10, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Hi there, I have just found your blog and have been enjoying reading it. I use a feed reader to keep up to date with new posts, and when I subscribed to your blog it is only publishing the first few lines of each post to the feed. I’m hoping you will change this setting so I can read your posts with all my other montessori blogs in my feed reader. There should be a setting somewhere where you tell wordpress to publish the whole post to your feed.

  7. Charissa March 4, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I love reading this. It takes my breath away.

    • Jessica March 9, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      I just came across your blog. I am a Montessori AMI 0-3 graduate, living and working in Switzerland. Anyone who wants to come and work with us in Zurich, you are welcome any time! There are 3 big Montessori schools close to the centre of the city, with Montessori from 3-12 or 0-12…bilingual English/German – Switzerland is a wonderful place to live, and travelling around Europe is within arm’s reach!

      • Nadine Mannhart May 27, 2011 at 12:16 am #

        Hey Jessica,

        I am a Swiss citizen by parentage (my father is Swiss) and raised in the States hence English is my mother tongue. I am completing my AMI primary training now in Dallas, Texas. I am interested in relocating to Zurich immediately after completing my training. I was wondering how easy the transition was for you and also how job prospects are in general. Also, I am trying to find salary ranges for Montessori employment and haven’t had any luck. Can you fill me in? Feel free to reply to me via e-mail at nadinemannhart@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

