Open letter to Maria Montessori…

23 Jul

… On the occasion of me falling asleep for the fifth time while trying to read “The Advanced Montessori Method – I

Dear Maria Montessori:

I love you and your method, you know I do.  But, did you have to be so Victorian in your writing?  Couldn’t you have said “Give the kid a cylinder block, get out of the way, and watch what happens?”

I have e-mails to check, wedding pictures to sort through, blog posts to write, and naps to take.

OK, thanks. 🙂

– Pilar

9 Responses to “Open letter to Maria Montessori…”

  1. PS Montessori July 23, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    Are you in Italy or trying to get ahead? Don’t worry, it always makes more sense to me once a trainer says it to me!

    • montessorimatters July 23, 2010 at 12:56 am #

      Hi! I’m not in Italy yet but I’m trying to get a jump start on volumes I and II. The theory makes perfect sense thus far, but it’s all the peripheral stuff about hygiene, moral fortitude, and wet nursing at the beginning of the book that had me dozing off. I can’t wait to hear about your training!!

  2. dwdriscoll July 23, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Awesome. I share your sleepiness. Thank goodness enough people have gone through her writing over the course of these years and made the pithy quotes available to us. THOSE are inspiring.

    🙂

  3. Montessoribeginnings July 23, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    He he that picture is too cute!! Good luck with the reading.

  4. Gerry July 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Hi, I started teaching the Method in 1973. My son was turning 3 and there were no Montessori schools in our area. I spent the prior 2 years getting my certifications. My oldest son had been in Montessorri from 2 1/2 years old. I actually started the school with the financial backing of the YMCA! I thought about extending it to the elementary level. It took a while for me to get through the training. Back then there were few resources, most of the materials were made by me! What fun years they were! I would do it all again—my kids were worth it! Relax, have fun!
    Gerry

  5. Kyle Sadler July 23, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    This is soooo sweet!

  6. superplexa July 23, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    I have a sneaky suspicion the wet nursing stuff will not be of daily relevance in an elementary classroom. I just can’t even look at Volume II yet. I’m waiting until my trainer actually makes me sit down and read it.

  7. Evelyn July 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Hi Pilar! I just came across your blog for the 1st time thanks to LEPTIR and it so made me laugh this letter of yours to Maria Montessori. I wrote one too back in January or February but didn’t have the nerve to post it. Love it!!!

  8. Marcy July 27, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    lol! I remember thinking the same thing when trying to read through the many books of hers we were assigned to read for training. You *really* have to focus to understand her sometimes!

Leave a Reply

