Tomorrow’s Child

13 Jan

Every January, the beautiful mountain town of Nevada City, CA hosts the Wild and Scenic Film Festival, a most inspiring and refreshing marathon of environmental documentaries, covering the spectrum of hot-button topics: organic farming, sustainable housing, wildlife conservation, green technology… You name it!

Arguably one of the most important topics in the environmental movement is corporate responsibility, and few documentaries have paved the way towards elevating environmental consciousness among for-profit companies than “So Right, So Smart”.  This film – featured in last year’s festival – proves that companies are not only capable of being environmentally responsible, but will also profit from their green strategies!

In the film, Ray Anderson, CEO of the carpeting company Interface, talks about the paradigm shift that allowed him to turn his company into a lean, mean, green machine.  Along the way, Anderson has inspired countless others to rethink their selfish ways and make a change for the better – both in and out of the office.

Glenn Thomas, a mill salesman who attended one of Anderson’s talks, understood better than most the force behind the CEO’s drive to raise the collective environmental conscience.  He was inspired to write a poem, and when I first heard it, I marveled at its gentle simplicity and deep truths.

I had forgotten about the poem, caught up as we get in our daily struggles and routines.  Someone who should know better has recently tried to make me doubt my calling, my abilities, and my dedication.

Luckily, a good friend reminded me of the poem just in time; it in turn served as a reminder that the work we do cannot and should not be judged by traditional educational standards.  The true purpose and ultimate impact of our efforts will only be noticeable when we’re no longer around to bear witness to them.

May this poem help guide you if you find yourself in the darkness of self-doubt, and may it remind you why we walk this sometimes thankless walk.

Tomorrow’s Child
by Glenn Thomas

Without a name; an unseen face
and knowing not the time nor place
Tomorrow’s Child, though yet unborn,
I met you first last Tuesday morn.

A wise friend introduced us two,
and through his shining point of view
I saw a day that you would see;
a day for you, and not for me.

Knowing you has changed my thinking,
for I never had an inkling
That perhaps the things I do might
someday, somewhere, threaten you.

Tomorrow’s Child, my daughter-son,
I’m afraid I’ve just begun
to think of you and of your good,
though always having known I should.

Begin I will to weigh the cost
of what I squander; what is lost
If ever I forget that you
will someday come to live here too.

One Response to “Tomorrow’s Child”

  1. Glenn Thomas February 16, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Glad to see Tomorrow’s Child continues to have of life of his/her own. Thank you for being a messenger of hope.

    Ray is very ill right now, please pray for him.

    GCT

Leave a Reply

